TCS 21 pin sound decoder & motherboard

For those that like their electrickery delivered digitally...
Post Reply
prrk4uk
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 5:47 pm

TCS 21 pin sound decoder & motherboard

Post by prrk4uk » Sun Apr 19, 2020 11:13 am

Hello.

I have an Arthern F7 I have installed a new sound chip into, a TCS 21 pin sound decoder & motherboard.

I using a Digtrax 150 system. I have tried to readdress the loco from 03 to its road number, 4 digits, but its not taking it. It will however accept a 2 digits. Last night I gave it one more go and found it would not respond to any address I've used.

Has anyone come across this issue before?

Any suggestions would be most welcome indeed.

Thanks.

James.

Mike_R
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: TCS 21 pin sound decoder & motherboard

Post by Mike_R » Sun Apr 19, 2020 1:01 pm

Are you using the program track or programming on the main?
Mike Ruby

prrk4uk
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 5:47 pm

Re: TCS 21 pin sound decoder & motherboard

Post by prrk4uk » Sun Apr 19, 2020 3:04 pm

Hello Mike.

Programming track. The Digrax 150/handheld is set on 'PG'.

Thanks for your response.

James.

Mike_R
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: TCS 21 pin sound decoder & motherboard

Post by Mike_R » Sun Apr 19, 2020 5:28 pm

You should be able to see what address is programmed in on AD2 or AD4 when in Program mode. A decoder can have both 2 and 4 digit addresses at the same time, CV29 bit 5 sets which one, program mode should set it for you.

More modern decoders prefer Direct programming, press the PROG button until PD shows, try that.

What address are you using, some numbers cause problems.
Mike Ruby

Post Reply