Loksound chip for Bachmann GE 45 ton switcher.

For those that like their electrickery delivered digitally...
Post Reply
Mike_R
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: Loksound chip for Bachmann GE 45 ton switcher.

Post by Mike_R » Fri Apr 24, 2015 9:49 pm

Loksound do the 45 tonner with Caterpillar engines http://www.esu.eu/en/downloads/sounds/l ... 00a6473b46.
You can get the micro Select version which is the smallest http://www.esu.eu/en/products/loksound/ ... ect-micro/.
They are about the same price as Tsunamis and have very good motor control.
Mike Ruby

Mike_R
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: Loksound chip for Bachmann GE 45 ton switcher.

Post by Mike_R » Mon Apr 27, 2015 5:35 pm

The Selects have more limited connections, the standard with 8 and 21 pin, the micro with 8 pin, the direct solder tabs (replaces many original circuit boards).
If you don't want to change the individual sound files the Select is the choice (you can still change the whole project), for a few pounds more the V4 allows you to change almost anything, but you do need the Lokprogrammer and be prepared to spend some time on it.
Manufactures are going to 21 pin as it allows all wires in the connectors, the Standard Select and Direct have 6 outputs, plus speakers, in total 15 wires.
Athearn now have 8 and 9 pin sockets. I tend to remove the factory fitted boards and replace with a Direct or hard wire one of the others, with resistors etc. mounted on veroboard.
Mike Ruby

Mike_R
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: Loksound chip for Bachmann GE 45 ton switcher.

Post by Mike_R » Mon Apr 27, 2015 7:14 pm

Depends on the space in the loco, does it have a circuit board that the Direct could replace? Basically the Direct is a micro mounted on a circuit board that has the LED resistors and extra bits to get 6 outputs. It fits under the low hood of a SW1500.

Sugar cube speakers are very small and are supposed to sound good, I haven't got around to trying mine yet.
http://www.dccsupplies.com/item-p-10422 ... r-cube.htm
http://www.coastaldcc.co.uk/products/pr ... t.php?id=9

Unless you have access to a Lokprogrammer you need to order the decoder with the correct sound project installed.
The CVs can be done with most systems (some have problems with high CV numbers).
If you use JMRI, then programming outputs, etc. is fairly easy, although being a very flexible decoder there are many options.
Mike Ruby

Post Reply