Modules v Boards

Discussions on all modular specific topics...
kathymillatt

Modules v Boards

Post by kathymillatt »

Hi

I have been starting my FremOn30 modules for quite a few months now and finally realised what my reason for indecision is...

I have four boards/modules which are slightly curved. Each board/module has two Fremo 500mm wide ends and the boards/modules can be rotated to be either a wavy line or a corner. The modules are going to be set in a swamp and are loosely based on the Argent. I found a few pictures of the sawmill and yard area with the rails hidden by long grass so started to think about incorporating that. I realise now that may be a step too far too fit in, mostly due to the track work that would be needed.

This a photo of the modules in my favoured configuration : Image

Now I'm torn because to make them reversible the track has to be centred which leaves little room for any buildings or scenery. Also, if I want a siding, the modules are 3 foot long at their widest arc and that means very little length and if you make them reversible, the track ends up on odd sides...

So now I'm wondering about making them into boards and only having the two far ends joining up with others. I could hint at the grassed over track on one module but not actually join the track up as all I want is to have a couple of wooden slat cars on a siding...

So, my decision is centred track and each module as stand alone so I can do them one at a time versus a long wavy module which ties up at the ends only.

What do you think?

Kathy
BrianMoore

Re: Modules v Boards

Post by BrianMoore »

Kathy,